top of page

Day 1 - Seven Day Challenge


Day 1-

Starting fresh can be hard, and while it's the new year and everyone is running to the gym, I found myself taking time off. I needed to focus on myself and my home life for a bit. The days I'd get to the gym it was crazy busy and my motivation would fly right out the door. So I took some time off, but I'm back and to kick start that, I've made up a 7 day plan of food and workouts.

I spent about 1-2 hours planning my workouts and preparing my food to hit my macros for the week.

Where to start

Finding your numbers, with planning my food out the first place to start is my macro split. You can download my worksheet to help you find yours.

Once you've gotten that now you can figure out what you want to eat for the week. I work away from home so finding something I can take with me works the best. This week I prepped Sausage for Breakfast bowls/burritos, Fajita Quinoa for lunches, and some lentils to add into different meals.

Breakfast bowls

Training

Lately, I've been loving doing a circuit training style, I can pick what areas I want to work and focus on that, but not get bored doing the same thing the whole time.

My workouts consist of working on problem areas I think I have or things I enjoy working.

I'm not a huge fan of just running to run. So I find other ways to incorporate cardio into my training. Right now I'm enjoying Intervals where I set the treadmill at 12 or higher for elevation and walk 5 minutes then run for 2.5 minutes at 0 elevation, then back up to 12 for another 5 minute walk then finish it out with a 2.5 minute run at 0. In total that's a 15 minute cardio circuit that gets your blood pumping and sweat started.

From there I move into my weight/body weight training. What I've found that if your starting new or starting after a break is to take it slow and listen to your body, it's okay to push yourself but there's no reason to wreck yourself the first day because it makes it harder to go back.

Day 1 workout

*Cardio intervals*

5 minute elevated walk

2.5 minute run

5 minute elevated walk

2.5 minute run

*Abs* 10x3

Single Leg crunch

Plank toe taps

Elevated leg lifts

*lower body* 10x3

Goblet squats

Kick backs

Curtise lunge

*Upper Body* 10x3

Lat Pull Downs

Stationary Row

Curls to overhead press

bottom of page