top of page

Day 3 - 7 Day Challenge


Active rest days are somewhat of a must in my schedule. Most of the time it’s because I can’t get making it to the gym work with my schedule. You know life with a 3-year-old. Typically, my active rest days consists of an at home workout between running up and down the stairs to do laundry or running around chasing the little. I try to plan for home workouts, if I do that I can easily move around my days to make it work with what is happening. As much as I plan, life doesn't always work with it. So if I plan one out I can just grab that and I don't have to spend the extra time trying to come up with something especially when the motivation may not be there.

My normal schedule for an active rest day consists of super sets or tri sets and some stretching. I try to get up early and do my workout before waking up the little and getting ready for the day. Lately, that hasn't been the case, so I find myself doing it after dinner or before I jump into bed.

Yoga

Gotta stretch you know. This is the one I’ve been using lately going back to one of my favorites. Really helps stretch out the muscles that have been pretty tight lately. I try to go through it a few times just to make sure I'm good and stretched out and awake. I have found that going through it twice I'm more calm and the second time through I can really concentrate on what I'm doing, instead of trying to remember whats next or worry if I'm doing it right. I can really focus on my breathing and kinda tune out a bit more.

At home workout

This home workout consist of a few different tri sets. That way I don't have to set aside a bunch of time and don't get uninterested as I'm doing my workout, it kind of tricks you in how long it's actually taking you. I dont get a lot of interruptions but with a 3 year old, she tries her best to do things with mommy, distractions happen.

I start with a tri set that'll get my heart rate up. All of the tri sets will be preformed the same amounts 10 Reps 3 times (10x3)

Squat jumps

Lunges (both legs)

Squat walks (10 each way)

Abs (Video below)

Twist crunches (weighted)

Single leg crunch (weighted)

Plank toe taps (10 taps each foot)

Arms

Around the world

Flys into kickbacks

curl to overhead press

There you have it, my at home workout that wont take long but it'll make you feel like you didn't skip the gym. If you don't have a set of weights you can use anything from a heavy book, to a bottle of wine. Anything that'll give you some more resistance. If you want to add more resistance you can use a workout band while doing the squat tri set. It'll add more burn to your workout and really activate the glutes.

bottom of page