top of page

Day 2 - Seven day challenge


Day 2-

Training

Todays workout consisted of a HIIT Training

High Intensity Interval Training. It gets your heart rate up and its a little more fun the just running. I'm not sure if it was the endorphins from day 1 or what but I ended up doing my HIIT Training at home while I was trying to pump myself up to go to the gym. Then when I got to the gym I did the cardio split that I did on day 1.

Call my crazy, but I felt really good so why waste it right!

HIIT - 1 Minute of each

Squat jumps to lunges

Mountain Climbers

Elevated Squat jumps

High knees (Tap toes on aerobic bench)

Rest

Today I stuck with a few machines since the gym wasn't as busy as it has been. It's been awhile but to be able to get on and work muscles that haven't been isolated in a while felt really good.

Cable machine 10x3

Lat Pull downs Stationary Rows Single arm lat pull downs

Leg extension machine 10x3

Leg Extensions

Leg Curls

Squat rack - Triangle progression Typically, when I'm able to get on the squat rack I like to do a triangle progression. Where you start at a high rep with a lower weight and as you add more weight you decrease your rep by 2. **Make sure you have a spotter if it is your first time** If the squat rack is daunting to you, start with the smith machine, it's a nice step into figuring out if your doing the move correctly.

Ex:

10 Reps with an empty bar

8 Reps with 10s on each side

6 Reps with 15 on each side

4 Reps with 20 each side

Then go back up your triangle

4 Reps with 20 each side

6 Reps with 15 on each side

8 Reps with 10s on each side

10 Reps with an empty bar

Meals

I'm not going to say that hitting macros is easy, it takes a lot of time and being mindful of what you're eating. I have found that the easiest thing for me when tracking macros is to make up meals that will be staples. It takes the guess work out of meals and makes it easier to track if you use myfitnesspal to track. It also gives you enough freedom to add a few things in with your left over amounts.

If you find it hard to meet your protein amount for the day try adding in a protein shake. Be cautious on what you use to mix your protein. Mixing it with milk you need to account for those extra macros [this is where measuring comes in handy]

My macro split for today ended up at 78P | 158C | 51 F 1428 Calories

That's 124 calories short , 39P short, 16C short, 8F over. It's close but it's all trying to hit those numbers. For me I don't get too stressed if I don't its just a guide I like to use to see if I'm where I should be at with consuming and it holds me accountable if I want to sneak some junk food.

bottom of page