top of page

Supplements

Along with training and eating healthy, I tend to supplement my diet. I find it difficult to get all my protein, needed in my diet, from food. Adding in a protein shake or bar usually helps but It’s not something I add every day. There’s a bunch of protein out there to decide from, which can be somewhat daunting in itself. Here’s a rundown on the two I use.

Whey Protein - Whey is absorbed faster than other forms of protein, which means it also increases muscle protein synthesis used to break a fasted state. It is one of two proteins found in milk.

Casein Protein- The other protein found in milk, Is a slower absorption. Aids in muscle recovery.

Currently my favorite Protein has been Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard. The flavor choices they have is awesome. For me it doesn’t seem to upset my stomach, and it the texture isn’t too thick or grainy. Plus, it easy to bake with or add into different drinks. Casein is a little thicker then whey protein I find mixing it with water is easier for me to drink it. But It also makes my smoothie bowl the perfect consistency.

Oh Yeah! One - These protein bars I have found to have the best flavor and texture, a lot of time protein bars can have a bad after taste, or the texture is dry. These however are not, with a bunch of flavors to choose from I have yet to find one I don’t like. Not to mention the macros for the bar are awesome.!

The next two supplements are two that aren’t completely necessary for everyone. These are two that I use on days where I need a little push in the gym or I’m lifting.

BCAAs, branch chained amino acid, “also increase synthesis of the cellular machinery responsible for carrying out the process of protein synthesis. Thus, BCAAs not only increase the rate of protein synthesis, but they also increase the cell's capacity for protein synthesis!”

What does that mean? That means that it aids in the breakdown of protein to help grow your muscles. It also is noted to aid in recovery and soreness, you’ll be sore but not as sore for as long as you would normally be.

Currently, I’ve been using SciVation Xtend BCAAs, you can take this anytime really, I find it works better for me to take it during my workout, but I’ve also taken it the day after a hard workout just to replenish my body. They have 13 different flavors which is crazy, but I highly suggest trying this kind if you are looking for BCAAs.

Pre-workout, is what you’d take to take before hitting the gym in hopes of increasing your energy levels, endurance and muscle power during your workouts. Most pre-workouts consist of caffeine, so if you have issues with caffeine I suggest not trying pre-workout. It’s a good rule of thumb if your new to pre-workouts start with a half scoop and work your way up. Never doing more then 1-2 a day, always take with water.

The pre-workout I've been using lately has been the Preformix Ion, this is a multi-phase pre-workout that has little balls in the powder that release throughout your workout. So you dont experience a surge of energy at once. Its formulated to give you a second wave of energy through out your workout.

With all that being said, these are things I do that work for me. They may not for you, if you have questions about it let me know and we can chat about what might work better for you. Knowing where your numbers is the key in knowing if your fueling your body correctly. If you want to know yours you can either chat with me or read my post “Are you eating enough?”

@fitwith_ally

https://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/bcaas-the-many-benefits-of-amino-acids.html

bottom of page