top of page

BBQ Chicken - Dry Rub


You get two recipes in one post on this one. This is one of my easy staples in my kitchen when I don’t have a clue on what to make. More times then not that is how I seem to be. I’ve learned from spending time in the kitchen, that you’ll need one of two things a good dry rub, and hope that what your making turns out good, especially if your throwing a recipe together blindly.

It’s easy to search and find a ton of different rubs. The one I use is a Texas Style Dry BBQ Rub one. I use it on anything, from veggies, to chicken, to shrimp. It’s nice to just have around in case you don’t know what to season something with.

It makes about 3 cups. Depending on what you’re using it for it’ll last you a while.

BBQ Dry Rub

2/3 cup chili powder 2/3 cup golden brown sugar packed 1/2 cup salt 1/2 cup ground black pepper 4 tablespoon ground mustard 4 tablespoon ground cumin 2 tablespoon garlic powder 2 tablespoon onion powder 2 tablespoon paprika 2 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper Now on what how I prepare my chicken

First thing, I mix my dry rub about 1-2 tablespoons (depending on how much chicken you have) with about 2 tablespoons of olive oil. You don't have to, I find doing it on the stove its easier then leaving it dry, but I tend to use it as a dry rub when I'm grilling.

Chicken marinating

As I cut the chicken up, I'll toss it into the marinade and make sure all the chicken is covered. Letting it sit for at least 10 minutes before cooking.

cooking

Now get your pan hot, and go ahead and let them cook. Making sure they are cooked through, then you can remove from the pan and let it sit and rest for about 5 minutes.

This meal is quick to make and easy to impress. Can easily be served with pasta, or rice.

Try it and let me know what you think!

bottom of page