top of page

Spicy Salmon


I really like finding one recipe that I can incorporate into a bunch of different dishes. I tend to run out of ideas of what to make for dinner that isn't the same every week. I decided I wanted to make salmon, but wasn't sure what to do with it. So on a whim I thought to try our favorite sauce on it and see how well it would turn out.

One thing I've learned while in the kitchen, and just like in life, it'll never hurt you try something. It may taste bad, but you've learned a lesson. Whats the worst that could happen you throw it away, or you choke it down and then know not to do that again. I'm pretty thankful my husband has yet to not like something I just threw together.

Anyways, let's get on to the recipe.

The special sauce

The sauce

2 Tbls olive oil

1 Tbls sriracha (depending on how spicy you like it)

2 Tbls brown sugar

1/2 tsp minced garlic

Combine all and let sit, for flavors to marry.

Preheat the oven to 425

Cook for about 30-35 minutes

preping salmon
preping salmon

I'm using frozen salmon, so I line a dish with tin foil, lay my salmon out and then put some of the sauce on top.

Reserving some to up on after.

Cover with tin foil, and pop it into the oven.

This is the perfect time to start your rice.

1 cup rice

2 cups water

Bring water to a boil.

Add rice and bring back to a boil.

Then turn it to low and cover for about 30 minutes or until the liquid is gone.

After the rice is done, I add in a little seasonings just because plain white rice can be a bit bland. This time I added, Jane's Krazy mix-up and Garlic pepper. I will say, be careful when adding the salt, its easy to over salt rice. To even it out is where the garlic pepper comes into play. Just make sure to taste it as you go and add small amounts at a time.

Once it's ready to come out of the oven, I let it sit for about 5-10 minutes to rest before plating, or in this case bowling. Doesn't that look yummy??

Spicy Salmon and rice

My favorite thing about this recipe is how easy it is, and how versatile it is. We use this sauce on shrimp, chicken, in pasta, and now salmon. If you're not a fan of spicy it can be modified by adding a little more brown sugar and a little less sriracha. But the way the recipe is the sugar tones down the spiciness quite a bit.

Being in the kitchen doesn't have to be daunting, as you get more and more comfortable with it and what you like it's easier to play around and come up with new recipes you like. When you start having fun making food you really can start enjoying your diet. A lot of people think that they have limited options when "dieting" and while some of that is true a lot of it isn't.

This meals nutritional value

463.85 Calories

22.6C|29.75P|11.06F

Fueling your body with the proper diet, and exercise will get you to your goals quicker. You don't have to eat plain rice and chicken to get there. mix it up and have fun.

Let me know some of your staple recipes in the comments below.

bottom of page